Summer Incident Journal: Thousands of dollars in construction equipment stolen

Monday, May 20

A fire alarm was set off at the Paramount Center by a dumpster hitting a dry flow system in the loading dock. No one was injured.

A staff person at the Ansin Building reported receiving a concerning telephone message.

-Advertisement-

Thursday, May 30

A staff member reported hitting garage doors with an Emerson College vehicle at the Scene Shop in Somerville.

Friday, May 31

ECPD investigated a reported disturbance at the Paramount Center.

Saturday, June 1

ECPD investigated a trespasser inside the Dining Center.  The man was seen on security cameras leaving the Center, but was not found.

ECPD investigated a disturbance inside the lobby of the Union Savings Bank Building.

Monday, June 3

A student reported being a victim of pickpocketing while at Central Square in Cambridge.

Tuesday, June 4

ECPD investigated a person acting suspicious on the sidewalk in front of the WERS radio station.

Wednesday, June 19

A fire alarm was investigated at Piano Row, but the cause was undetermined.  No injuries were reported.

Friday, June 21

A staff member reported the theft of college property from the Ansin Building valued at $115.

Monday, June 24

A contractor reported the theft of equipment taken from the Little Building construction site valued over $4200.

Tuesday, June 25

An officer reported a cracked window in front of the Paramount Theatre. 

Friday, June 28

A student reported that three suitcases shipped from San Francisco to Boston were missing despite receiving delivery confirmation from the shipper.

Sunday, June 30

ECPD investigated a report of an unconscious person inside the Black Box Theater.  

Wednesday, July 3

A person with no college affiliation was riding a city rental bicycle in the bike lane on Boylston Street adjacent to Piano Row where they were struck by a motor vehicle and knocked to the ground. The citizen was not injured and the motor vehicle fled the area.

A person was trapped inside an elevator in the Walker Building and freed by Facilities Management.

Tuesday, July 9

ECPD responded to a motor vehicle accident involving two cars.  One driver complained of injury and an ambulance and Boston Fire Department responded. 

Saturday, July 13

ECPD and Facilities Management investigated a report of a burst pipe inside the Cutler Majestic Theatre.

Monday, July 15

An unknown person dropped a bottle of liquid from the Piano Row residence hall into the loading dock area behind the building and defaced an ECPD cruiser.

Tuesday, July 16

A fire alarm was caused by a contractor working on the Lions Den. No injuries were reported.

Monday, July 22

A pedestrian with no college affiliation reported being robbed while walking in the vicinity of the St. Francis House shelter. The pedestrian was not injured and the Boston Police Department was notified.

Tuesday, July 23

A construction worker reported that their motor vehicle was keyed while parked on Boylston Street.

A summer conference student reported being threatened with violence while standing in front of the Paramount Center.

Tuesday, July 30

ECPD investigated a report of a trespasser inside the Little Building.

Wednesday, July 31

A summer conference student reported suspicious behavior occurring at her brother’s apartment off campus.

Friday, Aug. 2

ECPD assisted the State Transportation Security with a report of vandalism.

An unknown person trespassed into the Walker Building and activated a pull station causing a fire alarm.

Monday, Aug. 5

ECPD investigated a person loitering in front of Piano Row who was threatening pedestrians as they walked past.

Wednesday, Aug. 7

ECPD investigated a roommate dispute between summer conference students in Paramount.

Tuesday, Aug. 13

A student reported the theft of personal property stolen while on a bus from Connecticut to Boston.

Wednesday, Aug. 14

A student reported being threatened by a homeless person while walking on Boylston Street near the Colonial Building.

Thursday, Aug. 15

An officer witnessed a panhandler striking a car window at a red light on Tremont Street. The panhandler was removed from the street, and the driver did not wish to press charges.

A summer conference student staying at 2 Boylston Place reported the theft of their keys while traveling in an Uber.

Sunday, Aug. 18

A student reported being followed to 150 Boylston Street after spending some time off campus.

Monday, Aug. 19

OHRL staff turned over to ECPD marijuana that had been confiscated in Piano Row.

Wednesday, Aug. 21

A fire alarm activation was caused by a faulty smoke detector in the entrance lobby ceiling of the Ansin Building. No fire or injuries were reported.

Thursday, Aug. 22

A student reported that they had personal property stolen while inside the Panera Bread on Stuart Street.

Friday, Aug. 23

A fire alarm was caused by contractors working on the 4th floor of the Little Building. No fires or injuries were reported.

A student reported receiving harassing emails.

Related