Emerson College's student newspaper

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College's student newspaper

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College's student newspaper

The Berkeley Beacon

Letter from Emerson professors to students

We, the undersigned faculty wish to communicate to the student body, and in particular to those who participated in the student occupation of Faculty Assembly to protest racism in and beyond the classroom at Emerson, that we applaud your courage in taking over faculty space, disrupting business as usual, and confronting us with the truth of your experiences. We want you to know that we listened to you carefully; we heard your pain, your anger, your exhaustion, and your demands; we support your efforts; and we pledge to move from conversation to effective action in the fight against racism at Emerson.

Nancy Allen

John Anderson

Claire Andrade-Watkins

Paul Anskat

Jabari Asim

Emily Avery-Miller

Elizabeth Baeten

Miranda Banks

Claude Bartholomew

Manuel Basanese

Lindsey Beck

Melia Bensussen

Samuel Binkley

Dae Bogan

Israela Brill-Cass

Claudia Castañeda

Jena Castro-Casbon

Yu-jin Chang

Frank Chindamo

Sharmistha Roy Chowdhury

Joanne Ciccarello

Robert Colby

Martie Cook

Tom Cooper

Cristina Kotz Cornejo

Catherine D’Ignazio

Kathleen Donohue

Robert Dulgarian

Cathryn Edelstein

Ken Feil

Maria Flook

John Craig Freeman

Indira Ganesan

Mneesha Gellman

John Gianvito

Nigel Gibson

Eric Gordon

Michelle Graham

Bianca Janssen Groesbeek

June Guertin

Julie Gustafson

Paul Hackett

Lise Haines

Jackie Hall

Kathy Hassinger

Christopher Hennessy

Stephanie Heroux

Richard Hoffman

Jon Honea

Jennie Israel

Cheryl Knight

Janet Kolodzy

Mary Kovaleski

Daniela Kukrechtova

Jerry Lanson

Jamie Rosenblum Lichtenstein

Kristin Lieb

Theodore Life

Gian Lombardo

Christina Marin

Gail Mazur

Charles McCarry

Thomas McNeely

Paul Mihailidis

Amissa Miller

Cynthia Miller

Cara Moyer-Duncan

Pablo Muchnik

Mary Mulderig

Yasser Munif

Amy Vashlishan Murray

Paula Musegades

Bethany Nelson

Bob Nesson

Russell Newman

Pamela Painter

Elizabeth Parfitt

Nejem Raheem

Kathryn Ramey

Lu Ann Reeb

Linda Reisman

Tim Riley

Melinda Robins

Cindy Rodríguez

Jane Pierce Saulnier

Lauren Shaw

Maureen Shea

Allyson Sherlock

Carole Simpson

John Skoyles

Tulasi Srinivas

Jean Stawarz

Mirta Tocci

John Trimbur

Paul Turano

Daniel Viafore

Meta Wagner

Jerald Walker

Wendy Walters

Shujen Wang

Claudia Ward-de Leon

Cathy Waters

Michael Weiler

Eric Weiss

Douglass Whynott

Erika Williams

Marlena Yannetti

Steve Yarbough

Note: Given that the semester is rapidly drawing to an end, this letter was sent to all full and part time faculty with a short response time. The list of signatories is therefore potentially incomplete. An updated list will be compiled and made public at the beginning of the fall term.


Leave a Comment

Comments (0)

The Berkeley Beacon intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. Comments are expected to adhere to our standards and to be respectful and constructive. As such, we do not permit the use of profanity, foul language, personal attacks, or the use of language that might be interpreted as libelous. Comments are reviewed and must be approved by a moderator to ensure that they meet these standards. The Berkeley Beacon requires a valid email address. The email address will not be displayed but will be used to confirm your comments.
All The Berkeley Beacon Picks Reader Picks Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *