Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

New faces set to join Boston City Council

Madla Walsh
Campaign signs hang from the street lamps outside of the Chinatown YMCA where voters cast their ballots.

Election Day in Boston has again come and gone, with many new faces set to join the City Council come January.

The race for City Council At-Large was between eight candidates for four seats. The three incumbent councilors at-large retained their seats, with Councilor Ruthzee Louijeune topping the ticket with 44,479 votes (20.3 percent). 

“To all our residents, it is a privilege to serve each and every one of you every day,” said Louijeune. “Let’s continue the work. Onward and ever forward.”  

Councilor Erin Murphy secured 43,383 votes (19.8 percent).

“I look forward to continuing representing your interests in the City Council for the next two years,” said Murphy. “The important work will continue.” 

Councilor Julia Mejia took third place and earned 39,656 votes (18.1 percent). 

“Because of you, we managed to secure almost 40,000 votes and doubled our 2019 off-year election results,” said Mejia. “The people definitely worked hard to keep our seat and demonstrated that the people truly have the power.”

Challenger Henry Santana earned the fourth at-large seat with 34,014 votes (15.5 percent).

“Boston, I’m honored to be your next City Councilor At-Large,” said Santana. “Thank you for trusting me to represent you. I can’t wait to get to work.” 

Four challengers came short of securing an at-large seat on the council, with Bridget Nee-Walsh receiving 26,674 votes (12.2 percent), followed by Shawn Nelson’s 10,448 (4.8 percent), Clifton Braithwaite’s 10,236 (4.67 percent), and Catherine Vitale’s 8,503 (3.88 percent).

Six of the nine district council races were contested, two of which did not include incumbent councilors booted from their seats in September’s primary election. 

Three district councilors ran unopposed in this year’s election. District 1 Councilor Gabriela Coletta, District 2 Councilor Ed Flynn, and District 4 Councilor Brian Worrell cruised into another term, each receiving more than 95 percent of the vote in their respective races.

The District 3 seat opened up after incumbent District 3 Councilor Frank Baker announced he would not run for another term. After earning 5,133 votes, John FitzGerald prevailed in the race (58.2 percent), defeating Joel Richards, who received 3,650 votes (41.4 percent).

“The trust and confidence you have placed in me means a great deal and is something I will never take for granted,” said FitzGerald. 

District 5 Councilor Ricardo Arroyo was not afforded another term after coming in third place in the primary election. Enrique Pepen topped the ticket in November’s election after receiving 5,781 votes (52.8 percent) to Jose Ruiz’s 5,134 (46.8 percent).

“District 5, thank you for entrusting me to become your next Boston City Councilor,” said Pepen. “Now it’s time for the real work to begin and bring prosperity to the neighborhoods we call home.” 

District 6 Councilor Kendra Lara was also rejected for another term on the council after coming up short in September’s primary election. Benjamin Weber prevailed in this race, securing 9,541 votes (60.7 percent to William King’s 6,089 (38.7 percent).

“Thank you, District 6 voters, for your overwhelming support,” said Weber. “I am thrilled for the opportunity to serve and represent you to help make Boston a city that works for all of our residents.” 

District 7 Councilor Tania Fernandes Anderson earned another term after receiving more than 70 percent of the vote, 3,710 votes to Althea Garrison’s 1,500.

District 8 Councilor Sharon Durkan won a full two-year term after winning a special election to serve the rest of Councilor Kenzie Bok’s term after Bok was tapped to run the Boston Housing Authority. Durkan received more than 70 percent of the vote and won every precinct in her district.

“Thank you, District 8,” said Durkan. “I’m honored to continue to serve the West End, Beacon Hill, Fenway-Kenmore, Back Bay, and Mission Hill for another two years.” 

District 9 Councilor Liz Breadon also earned an additional term on the council after beating out challenger Jacob deBlecourt. Breadon secured 4,399 votes (66 percent), whereas deBlecourt earned 2,222 (33.3 percent).

“Thank you, Allston-Brighton, for coming out to the polls, casting your ballots, and showing your trust in me to represent you for a third term as District 9 City Councilor,” said Breadon. “It is truly an honor to serve this wonderful community.” 

Councilors-elect will be sworn in at an inauguration ceremony to be held at Boston City Hall in early January.

Reports indicate that Councilor Louijeune has the support of a majority of the incoming council to become its next president for the upcoming term.

“I am humbled that my colleagues believe in me to lead the Boston City Council in the next term,” said Louijeune. “I look forward to working in deep partnership to continue to build a Boston where every voice is heard, and every neighborhood flourishes.” 

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor
DJ Mara
DJ Mara, Kasteel Well Bureau Co-Chief

Comments (0)

The Berkeley Beacon intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. We welcome strong opinions and criticism that are respectful and constructive. Comments are only posted once approved by a moderator and you have verified your email. All users are expected to adhere to our comment section policy. READ THE FULL POLICY HERE: https://berkeleybeacon.com/comments/
All Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *