Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

Emerson College’s only independent, student-run newspaper since 1947

The Berkeley Beacon

Lions point guard close to landmark basket

Emerson’s Geoff Gray drives to the basket against MIT. Gray is 43 points shy of 1,000 in his career.

Junior point guard Geoff Gray is on the verge of scoring his 1,000th career point for Emerson’s men’s basketball team, which would gain him entry into an exclusive club of 17 players who previously accomplished the feat at the college.

Gray scored 17 points in Emerson’s 86-57 loss to Springfield College on Saturday, leaving him 26 points away from 1,000.

He would be the first basketball player to reach the mark while playing the entirety of his Emerson career in the New England Women’s and Men’s Athletic Conference. Emerson’s men’s basketball team moved to the NEWMAC in 2013.

Gray scored 115 points in his first season, then stepped up as the team’s main scorer in his sophomore campaign. He scored 450 points to finish fourth in the conference and saw his field goal percentage jump to 46.3 percent from his 37.8 percent freshman year mark.

The Newton, Massachusetts native is averaging just under 35 minutes per game this season, and leads the Lions in scoring with 409 points. His average of 19.5 points per game places him second in the conference.

The list of 17 former Emerson athletes to reach 1,000 points includes both men’s and women’s basketball players. The school’s highest all-time scorer is former Orlando Magic general manager Rob Hennigan, who scored 2,196 points during his tenure at the college from 2000 to 2004.

Michael Thorpe, who started at point guard during Gray’s freshman season, was the school’s most recent 1,000 point scorer. Thorpe accomplished the feat during his senior year, and finished with 1,229 career points.

Chart: Emerson’s 1,000 Point Scorers

Tony Wyzzard 1,897 1991-1995
John Karalis 1,454 1991-1996
Ken LaFlamme 1,624 1993-1997
Shawn McCullion 1,063 1994-1997
Gabe Lopes 1,127 1995-1999
Steve Matthews 1,139 1998-2000
Rob Murphy 1,206 1998-2001
Molly Zahr 1,270 1998-2001
Rob Hennigan 2,196 2000-2004
Steve Georgoulis 1,317 2003-2006
Will Dawkins 1,661 2004-2008
Bryan Rouse 1,819 2006-2010
Jeremy Shannon 1,521 2006-2010
Kathy Andrade 1,182 2007-2011
Olivia DiNucci 1,196 2009-2012
Kristin Brice 1,202 2011-2015
Michael Thorpe 1,229 2012-2016

Leave a Comment
About the Contributor

Comments (0)

The Berkeley Beacon intends for this area to be used to foster healthy, thought-provoking discussion. We welcome strong opinions and criticism that are respectful and constructive. Comments are only posted once approved by a moderator and you have verified your email. All users are expected to adhere to our comment section policy. READ THE FULL POLICY HERE: https://berkeleybeacon.com/comments/
All Sort: Newest

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *