SGA sets election timeline, approves six positions

SGA sets election timeline, approves six positions

By Andrew Brinker, Senior Investigative Reporter

The Student Government Association unanimously approved timelines for both the special elections and the general elections during their joint session meeting on Sept. 17.

The special elections, which are intended for students wishing to join SGA during the fall semester, will hold voting from 7 a.m. on Oct. 23 to 7 a.m. on Oct. 25. General election voting will run from Dec. 11 to Dec. 13.

Some of the current vacancies in the governmental body include four unfilled executive board positions, several open senate seats, and an unoccupied presidential post for the class of 2020.

While the special election will attempt to add to the group’s membership, SGA also voted unanimously on Tuesday to appoint eight students to executive offices for the school year.

Of the new appointees, six will serve as commissioners including senior Gianna Gironda as the Sustainability Commissioner,  junior Harper McKenzie as the Accessibility Commissioner, senior Tatiana Melendez as the Fraternity and Sorority Life Commissioner, junior Daniella Baltazar as the Honors Program Commissioner, freshman Lily Fitzherbert as the LGBTQIA+ Commissioner, and senior Caroline Rodriguez as the POWER Commissioner.

Additionally, freshman Jehan Wirasto and junior Nicole Poitras will occupy the Co-Executive Assistant and PR Chair Assistant positions respectively.

The new members will make up more than a third of SGA’s membership.

SGA President Raz Moayed expressed confidence in the appointees, citing their experience as a fruitful addition to the body.

“They have already been working on advertising who we are,” said Moayed. “They didn’t even need to be appointed. They’re already spewing information everywhere to every student.”